Rail Surcharge Tax Extensions & Inconsistent Misinformation

People have been telling me they’ve seen me on Olelo or heard that I was Honolulu Hale.  A lot has been happening with the rail project, and I’ve been checking a few things, in addition to providing testimony.  I’ll continue digging into the numbers, reports and documents that HART and the city are giving to us, but I wanted to share this with you now.

The legislature is currently considering a bill to extend the rail surcharge tax.  If Mayor Caldwell and HART had it their way, it would be extended in perpetuity.  It seems they’ve come to realize that the legislature is not going to go that far, but they are still pushing for a 25-year extension.

After digging into just a few things, I found some documents that just don’t make sense.  Some numbers we’ve been given are just downright wrong.  I therefore have serious concerns about the information that is being provided to the legislature and to us.  I brought this up at a recent HART meeting and again today at a Senate Ways & Means Committee meeting.  I’m posting my testimony here, so you can see the sources I used as well as the example documents I refer to.  I hope you will take time to read it and take action now, before it’s too late.Testimony HB134 HD1 SD1 surcharge extension WAM 4-7-15

One thought on “Rail Surcharge Tax Extensions & Inconsistent Misinformation

Leave a Reply

