Every Vote Counts, Real Property Tax Update and CFE

Wow!  What a finish — a 47-vote spread between Trevor Ozawa and Tommy Waters in the race for Honolulu City Council.  That’s out of a almost $32,700 votes cast.  It’s interesting to note there were 4,451 blank votes (12%).  It just goes to show that every vote does count.  I’ll continue to attend council meetings and testify on a wide range of issues.

You may recall one of the things I said we need to do is review the entire real property tax system.  The 2014 Real Property Tax Advisory Commission had its last meeting of the year yesterday.  This is a good start.  They made several recommendations that I support.  Chair Martin said the report wouldn’t “sit on the shelf” like the prior report, and that they would be drafting legislation based on the report.  I look forward to that.  Here’s the most recent draft:  http://www4.honolulu.gov/docushare/dsweb/Get/Document-153183/dspage07014491450207921423.pdf.

You may have noticed it’s been a while since my last post.  I’ve been studying for the Certified Fraud Examiner’s test, so I can become a CFE.  My goal is to take the exam by the end of the year.  Recommended study time is about 64 hours, so I’ll be taking a little break from this blog until the beginning of next year.  If something comes up that you think I should know about, however, please contact me.  Aloha for now.

Leave a Reply

